You’re so sweet…

Who would guess that something as simple as sugar might not be vegan? Sugar comes from a plant, how can it possibly not be vegan? The fact that during the refining process some companies use bone char (usually from a cow) to whiten/refine the sugar is where the issue lies. Not all companies use it, so if worried it’s probably best to stick to non refined sugars such as Cane Sugar, turbinado or beet sugars.

It’s mighty difficult to avoid sugar completely but just like anything else, the more you do it the easier it becomes. There are many alternatives and the best way is to avoid as many processed foods as possible.

Is avoiding sugar getting a bit too fanatical? It depends on who you ask of course. The fact of the matter is that most people who turn to veganism are doing it for moral reasons, so it’s a fair reason to avoid something.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: